From the Basement

May 4, 2010

Good Things Monday

I know plenty of bloggers who do a “Good Things Friday” post to commemorate the end of the week. But I have a Good Things Monday post. Feel free to comment with the good things in your life this week (so far!).

1. An awesome new sermon series at church entitled “She.” Our pastor is centering it around Mother’s Day and Proverbs 31, talking about freeing women to serve in their full God-given capacity as the crown of creation (his words, so cool). Cool word fact: ezer, the world often translated as “helper” or “helpmeet” in English (what Eve is described as in Genesis), is only used 20 times in the Old Testament. Every other time, it refers to God. And every other time, it means lifesaver. Given that I’m sort of in a recovery stage of having gone through a tone of Grudem’s theology (grrr he makes some good points but there are times when I just want to throttle the man, which is a very human impulse, I know) … suffice to say, the sermon series is a good thing.

2. My friend Jenelle is here! We had a wonderful dinner with my mom last night – chicken bow tie pasta with pesto and a Shiraz/Cabernet blend. Mmm.

3. Today, we got wonderful chocolates, coffee, and hot hoagies in my hometown before taking a bit of a road trip to take a tour of Leinenkugels Brewery in Chippewa Falls, WI. Great tour and free beer tasting afterword.

4. Also great: our tour guide told us that at the local grocer, the 1888 Bock was on sale for $3 a six-pack. Um, yes! You’ve never seen 22-year-old women more excited to buy beer. Seriously. We were giddy. Giddy, I tell you!

5. Listening to movie soundtracks in the car (Avitar, Chronicles of Narnia, 300), talking about being a choir geek (her) and band geek (me) and totally nerding out to the beautiful crescendos in the music.

6. Walking around Barnes & Noble talking about our favorite books. Going to the children’s section and reliving our childhoods … Nancy Drew, American Girl, Harry Potter, Redwall, Dear America …

7. Enjoying pizza and bottles of said 1888 Bock with my father, all of us singing Closer to Fine (Indigo Girls) karaoke style while having a great conversation.

Life doesn’t get much better.

2 Comments »

  1. 1. Did you mean “tome”?
    2. Is that tome my book?
    3. Does that mean I can actually have it back now that you’ve read it? 😉
    4. Good thing for my week: MY LAST FINALS WEEK IS OVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀

    Comment by Kirsten — May 4, 2010 @ 3:18 am | Reply

    • I read a different Grudem book, but yes I found yours when I came home. Jo had been keeping it as part of a pseudo-bookshelf in her room. I found quite a few books that way … ! So yes, I’ll bring it to you.

      Comment by girldownstairs — May 8, 2010 @ 4:11 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

