From the Basement

April 17, 2010

Caffeine/Castle = OTP?

Filed under: Uncategorized — jeannablue @ 2:14 am
Tags: , , , ,

So I went off Mountain Dew last fall, and the fact that I did so without a 12-step program shocked my boyfriend. I was raised on pop (or soda, whichever you prefer), but the monetary expense as well as the health aspect ultimately convinced me to give it up. Nowadays, I only have a carbonated beverage if I go out to eat. Pizza is a food I just cannot eat without a Coke or Mountain Dew.

The other night, however, I was at my mom’s and noticed that she had some Mountain Dew leftover from God knows when. I decided to help her out around 9, 10 o’clock, and so I downed a Dew. A year ago, I would have been in bed before midnight, no problem.

I was up til 4 a.m.

Oops.

It wasn’t a wasted evening, however. I took the opportunity to watch the entirety of season one of Castle, which had arrived from amazon.com that afternoon. I don’t really watch television, but I am infatuated with this show. It’s a fun, campy cop procedural that privileges character relationships and witty banter over the uber-grotesque body-of-the-week that dominates the Law and Order and CSI juggernauts. It knows when to take itself seriously and when not to – a blessed quality in a television show. Also, Nathan Fillion is the sort of actor who inspires me to say, “Nice job, God. Nice job.”

I don’t know which is more addicting – Castle or Mountain Dew. What I do know is that the combination is killer. It may not be my One True Pairing, but it’s certainly fun to flirt with.

P.S. OTP means One True Pairing, i.e. the characters who you think are perfect together. Kate/Castle and Bones/Booth would be appropriate OTPs. And here ends your Public Fandom Announcement for the day.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

